AFREECA

Exphibition AFREECA at Beaumettes Chapel from May 30th trough June 23rd.

The exhibition brings together five artists from the African continent who give a free artistic expression of their African identities.

Ayanda Mabulu, South Africa, lives in Johannesburg. He has a satirical look at the governance of his country, the misfortunes, the abuses, with a strong, engaged style, a brush that denounces the packages of a system.

Siriky KY, born in Ivory Coast, lives in Burkina Faso. His very refined technique describes his country with unique bronze sculptures. His new series of “precious heads” offers a testimonial look at the representation of the African man. The traits of the faces, marked, bruised, scarified, show the beauty of these ordinary beings with the power of the representation that one would make of a monarch or a God.

Nyaba Leon OUEDRAOGO, Burkinabé, lives in Paris, photographer. He delivers a narrative in pictures of the traditions and State of the current civilization of West African countries. The ghosts of the Congo River, the painted men of tribal painting, the Congolese youth in a green country.

Mamady Seydi, Senegalese, lives in Mbour. He gives a note of wisdom and humor to his sculptures, the animals of the jungle have replaced humans to give them a universal character. Each installation is the illustration of a Wolof proverb that translates the way of thinking of a Sage.

Dominique Zinkpè, Beninese, lives in Cotonou. It brings a personal view of the different continents. The mask in African statuary is a face of the actor, it conceals the truth. In his series of unmasked continents, Dominique delivers a staging of the clichés that symbolize the richness of the peoples of these continents.

AFREECA

Exposition AFREECA à la chapelle des Beaumettes du 30 Mai au 23 juin 2019.

L’exposition réunit cinq artistes du continent africain qui donnent une libre expression artistique de leurs identités africaines.

Ayanda Mabulu, Sud-africain, vit à Johannesburg. Il porte un regard satirique sur la gouvernance de son pays, les travers, les abus, avec un style fort, engagé, un pinceau qui dénonce les forfaitures d’un système. 

Siriky KY, né en Côte d’Ivoire, vit au Burkina Faso. Sa technique très épurée décrit son pays par des sculptures uniques en bronze. Sa nouvelle série des «Têtes précieuses» offre un regard testimonial de la représentation de l’Homme africain. Les traits des visages, marqués, meurtris, scarifiés montrent la beauté de ces êtres ordinaires avec la puissance de la représentation que l’on ferait d’un monarque ou d’un Dieu.

Nyaba Leon OUEDRAOGO, Burkinabé, vit à Paris, photographe. Il livre un récit en images des traditions et de l’état de la civilisation actuelle de pays de l’Afrique de l’Ouest. Les fantômes du Fleuve Congo, les hommes peints de peinture tribale, la jeunesse congolaise dans un pays verdoyant.

Mamady Seydi,sénégalais, vit à Mbour. Il donne une note de sagesse et d’humour à ses sculptures, les animaux de la jungle ont remplacé les humains pour leur donner un caractère universel. Chaque installation est l’illustration d’un proverbe Wolof qui traduit la façon de pensée d’un sage.

Dominique Zinkpè, Béninois,vit à Cotonou. Il apporte une vision personnelle des différents continents. Le masque dans la statuaire africaine est un visage de l’acteur, il dissimule la vérité. Dans sa série des continents démasqués, Dominique nous livre une mise en scène des clichés qui symbolisent la richesse des peuples de ces continents.