The gallery

Eric & Valerie Galea founded their gallery in the Luberon, in south of France in 2005.

The gallery dedicated to painting, sculpture and contemporary photography offers visibility to emerging artists whose talent is often their only passport to access the international artistic scene.
Some are sometimes very well known in their country but are struggling to be represented in Europe whose artistic culture is different.

While meeting with these artists, the artistic line of the gallery is drawn around one main topic: Africa.

At « Rencontres d’Arles » festival, the gallery exhibited for the first time within the cross Seasons France/South Africa with the support of the French Institute the photographs of Jean-Christophe Balllot and Christo Doherty. They discover the body of work of Robin Hammond on Zimbabwe and it marked their final engagement to promote photography.

Their participations in FNB Johannesburg Art Fair since 2012, first within the cross Seasons France/South Africa with the support of the French Institute allowed them to meet with South-African photographers who are now permanent artists of the gallery: Christo Doherty, Head of Witts University Digital department in Johannesburg, André S. Clements, Huw Morris, Ben Skinner.

While photography is one of their passion, their interest for South-African creation lead them to also exhibit Andries J. Botha’ s sculptures, whose Foundation for Elephant preservation in Durban is well known.

It is also with great honor that the gallery exhibited the paintings and watercolors of Bruce Clarke, very engaged artist whose series ” standing men» series commemorated the sad anniversary of the genocide in Rwanda.

A nice meeting with a talented Senegalese artist already noticed by Foundation Blachère, Mamady Seydi, sculptor whom they are pleased to exhibit againin “solo-show” with great success at FNB Johannesburg Art Fair in September 2018.

The gallery is pleased to welcome the artworks of Dominique Zinkpè, painter and sculptor from Benin whom they have particularly appreciated the sculptures.

In 2018 all the artists of the gallery have something in common, whether they live, work or not in Africa. This is their understanding of these 54 countries, their willing to express their caring, their testimonial, their support to the values of these countries that leaves no one indifferent and from which we have so much to learn which reunite them.

They have all a single expression which symbolizes their work. They carry the values of respect of others, dignity, moral values and hope.
Some of them have survived moral wounds because of political issues which gave them mind opening on tolerance and sharing.

Others just bring their visual testimony of the beauty that they find even among loneliness and sadness or mutate ordinary to sublimate people.

In Africa, expression by painting or photography is still not free and very often censured. We offer the opportunity to these artists to express themselves in a free country that is France. In the autumn 2018, The gallery presents the artwork of a deeply engaged South-African artist: Ayanda Mabulu.

Africa is known as the cradle of mankind and must not be its tomb.
The defending of artistic expression is our priority as gallerists.

La Galerie

Eric & Valérie Galéa ont fondé leur galerie dans le Luberon en 2005.

La galerie consacrée à la peinture, la sculpture et la photographie contemporaine donne de la visibilité à des artistes émergents, dont le talent est souvent le seul passeport pour visiter la scène artistique internationale.
Certains sont parfois très connus dans leur pays mais peinent à être représentés en Europe dont la culture artistique est différente.

Au fil des rencontres avec ces artistes, la ligne artistique de la galerie s’est dessinée autour d’une thématique: l’Afrique.

Lors des Rencontres d’Arles 2013, où la galerie exposait pour la première fois dans le cadre des Saisons croisées France/Afrique du Sud avec le soutien de l’Institut Français les photographes Jean-Christophe Ballot et Christo Doherty, ils font la découverte du travail de Robin Hammond sur le Zimbabwe va marquer leur engagement définitif dans l’univers de l’image.
Leurs participations à la Foire FNB Art Fair de Johannesburg depuis 2012, d’abord dans le cadre des Saisons croisées France/Afrique du Sud avec le soutien de l’Institut Français, leur a permis de rencontrer des photographes Sud-Africains qui sont maintenant des artistes permanents de la galerie : Christo Doherty, professeur à l’Université de Witts à Johannesburg, André S. Clements, Huw Morris, Ben Skinner.
Mais si la photographie est une passion, leur intérêt pour la création artistique Sud-Africaine leur a permis d’exposer également les sculptures de Andries J. Botha connu pour sa fondation de la défense des éléphants à Durban.
C’est aussi avec un grand honneur que la galerie a exposé les peintures et aquarelles de Bruce Clarke, artiste engagé dont la série des « Hommes debout » commémora lors du triste anniversaire du génocide au Rwanda.
Une belle rencontre avec un artiste Sénégalais talentueux et déjà repéré par la Fondation Blachère, Mamady Seydi, sculpteur qu’ils ont le plaisir d’exposer à nouveau en « solo-show » à la FNB Joburg Art Fair au mois de septembre 2018 avec un vif succès.

La galerie a le plaisir d’accueillir également les œuvres de Dominique Zinkpè, peintre et sculpteur Béninois dont nous avons apprécié tout particulièrement les sculptures.

En 2018 tous les artistes de la galerie ont un point commun, qu’ils vivent, travaillent ou non sur le continent africain. C’est leur compréhension de ces 54 pays, leur envie d’exprimer leur attachement, leur témoignage, leur soutien aux valeurs de pays qui ne laisse nul indifférent et dont nous avons tant à apprendre qui les a réunis.

S’ils ont tous une expression particulière qui symbolise leur travail. Ils portent les valeurs du respect de l’autre, de la dignité et de la morale et de l’espoir.
Certains ont survécu à des blessures morales dues à des régimes politiques difficiles qui leur ont donné une ouverture d’esprit sur la tolérance et le partage.
D’autres apportent juste le témoignage visuel de la beauté qu’ils ont pu trouver même au milieu de la solitude et de la désolation ou transfigurent l’ordinaire pour le sublimer.

En Afrique, l’expression par la peinture ou de la photographie n’est pas encore libre et est encore très souvent censurée. Nous offrons la possibilité à ces artistes de s’exprimer dans notre pays de Liberté qu’est la France. A l’automne 2018, la galerie présente les œuvres d’un nouvel artiste Ayanda Mabulu, peintre très engagé d’Afrique du Sud.

Si l’Afrique est le berceau de l’humanité elle ne doit pas en devenir le tombeau.
La défense de la liberté d’expression artistique est notre priorité de galeriste.